Root Vegetable Biscuits

20150131_092900

This is my favorite recipe from Sarah Ballantyne’s cookbook. I find it to be the most comforting in regards to carb cravings, and it can easily be transformed into so many dishes! For example, biscuits with cauliflower gravy, dumplings for soup, or a flatbread taste for hamburger! I also love it because yuca (also known as cassava) is good for the digestive system, and it seems to be easy on my stomach as anything I tend to eat these days does not settle well. To find the complete recipe, which has variations of other vegetables you can use and how to best cook it-I have the link to her books on my resources page! I am just sharing the kind I always make because I find them to be the most tasty.

It’s funny because living in the church, I share the kitchen with 5 main other people, and all of them have asked me what the weird brown thing sitting on the counter is. When I tell them the outcome is the biscuits-they are highly intrigued.

Root Vegetable Biscuits
Prep Time: 24hrs of soaking yuca, 1 hour of boiling, and 20mins to prepare the root vegetable mash Cook Time: 25-30mins Serves: 8-12 biscuits
Ingredients:

1 ¼ C. mashed yuca

3 T. lard, plus extra for brushing

1/3 C. Sifted Coconut Flour

2/3 C. tapioca starch

½ C. arrowroot powder

2. T fresh chopped chives-optional depending on what you are wanting the biscuits for

¼ tsp. salt

½ tsp. cream of tarter

¼ tsp. baking soda

Instructions:

  1. Peel and cut the yuca into larger pieces. Soak in water in the fridge for 24 hours. Drain.
  2. Boil yuca for at least an hour. Drain again and mash with a kitchen fork or wire potato masher.
  3. Preheat oven to 400°F.
  4. Combine the mashed yuca with the remaining ingredients to form a fairly stiff dough.

*Hint, if mine is dry-which I sometimes find depending on how dried out my mash is, or what brand of coconut flour I am using, I add a little bit of water to make my dough stick. This can however make your biscuits more mucky in the end so be careful of how much you add. Another alternative would be to simply add some more lard and continue mixing.

  1. Pat the dough out to be ¾ ” thick. Use a 2” biscuit cutter to cut into biscuits, or just shape by hand by rolling dough into a ball, flattening it, and then shaping the edges.
  2. Brush the top of each biscuit with additional lard.
  3. Bake for 25-30mins, until golden brown on top. I like mine when they are fresh out of the oven, but they also take on a different great flavor after having sat for a while. Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

